Saving, Traveling and Uncharted Territory

image

Last week I made the decision to visit Thailand in January. As much as many bloggers advertise that it’s possible to “travel for free” the reality of traveling is that somewhere along the line it costs money. Some travelers do get by traveling with meager amounts of money and working their way around the world while others find ways to travel hack by spending a ton of moneh to earn frequent flyer miles. I, on the other hand, am going to pay for my trip the old fashioned way, saving.

Before I set the goal of going to Thailand in mind, I crunched the numbers to ascertain if I could afford it, which I can. The cost of the flight is going to be around 800 dollars, and I’ve decided on a budget of 40 dollars a day for 2 weeks, and I’m alotting myself 240 dollars for everything else I’m going to need before I leave including my passport. I have 4 months between now and January to save 1600 dollars.

As someone who has never saved money before in their life this is uncharted territory. One of the reasons we travel is to experience things we never have before, and I suppose I’m getting the opportunity to do that before I even leave. As is typical when exploring uncharted territory my stomach has been tight with nervousness but more than anything I’m excited.

I want to show that even a student without a trust fund or a well-off family can see the world if they’re willing to put in the effort and make some necessary sacrifices. I’m not going to pretend that I have all the answers because I know I don’t. This is a learning process, and I want to share my successes and failures with my followers.

Every other Friday from now on I’m going to be updating my followers on my progress. These posts are going to be titled Friday Fund-day. If you’re interested in learning the process needed to pay for travel then you should definitely keep up to date with these posts.

– Wandergirl

4 thoughts on “Saving, Traveling and Uncharted Territory

  1. Just a tip, when you do visit Thailand, don’t eat in fancy restaurants. Experience the local cuisine on the streets. They’re safe, I promise you. Just beware of how spicy the food can be. That way, it will save you a lot of money and leave you with extra to spend on other things.

    Like

    • Thanks for the tip šŸ™‚ I’m a total wimp when it comes to spicy foods, but I plan on being adventurous and trying some foods I normally wouldn’t. My favorite part of going new places is trying the local cuisine.

      Like

  2. I’m so excited to see your posts from your trip! I am on board on this cause — you shouldn’t have to be rich or with a trust fund to be able to see the world. I’m saving up myself because I want to see Bali, and Europe, and many more places šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I feel like it’s a very common misconception people have that either you can’t or don’t deserve to travel unless you have a ton of expendable money. Just remember to follow so you can keep up with the posts to come šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

